There is a Protagonist

10 Apr

Today as I met with my job readiness person; tutored; interviewed and traveled all over Manhattan and Brooklyn, I saw the face of my protagonist. She appeared to me the same way one would see their face in a reflection. She told me her name and I wrote it down. I observed her and read her story on her face. She is the first person I gave a voice to; it was a one page breakthrough, but, it’s a start. Let’s see who else shows up. I’m guessing a neighbor; a female confidant. They both share something…but what? 

To add, I came across a note I wrote to myself, giving myself permission to go back to a time when I was 17 or about, writing poems religiously. Filling binders with colorful language. The person I am now needs to reconnect with that writer if this is going to happen and then all of the writers that matured from that point forward. I am too in the present and had to step back. Unfortunately, I cannot create a distant space to write it all down; I have to live in the process and work. I am also on a timeline as grad school is fast approaching. 

Let’s just see…

Leave a comment